Acropolis Inspiration

2 Jun
Watercolor painting of Akropolis, Turkey

Acropolis Away, Watercolor on paper by Katie Turner. Inspiration from Turkey.

I was inspired a while ago after my daughter’s trip to Turkey.  From the pictures she sent back home I was intrigued by the ancient ruins of architecture and untouched beauty of the Turkish countryside.  In this quick painting I portray the emotions felt after looking through pictures of Acropolis of Athens.  There is so much history in this place.  I think about the different reasons ancient people traveled there.  Some may have traveled to the temples seeking to heal their mind and body.  I drew on background scenery and went more abstract with my watercolor.

 

Leave a Reply

