Replenishing Supplies & Shows

8 Jan
soft white and yellow flowers spill across green foliage

“Day 3 Floral” a watercolor painting by Katie Turner

 

picture of paint palette, water, brushes

Taking stock of your art supplies for the new year.

The new year is a great time for artists to take stock of what supplies are lacking and whats left.  I see a lot of clearance sales both in store and online which make it a perfect time to re-stock art supplies.   With one recent sale, I was able to purchase an entire roll of my favorite paper at half price.  I feel like I’ve been waiting all year to stock up!

For the month of January, three of my paintings (including the one posted above) are hanging with the Central New York Art Guild Show at the Baldwinsville Public Library in Baldwinsville, New York.  The link to their site: http://www.bville.lib.ny.us/  I was thrilled they selected one of my paintings to advertise on their site.

A second show I’m in is the Associated Artists of Central New York “Outside/In” exhibition.  Karen Kozicki, a member of the Associated Artists, and a terrific photographer invited me to show as a guest.  This show opens January 10th and runs through February 28th.  The reception for this show is on January 18th from 2 – 4 p.m. at the Manlius Library where the show is hung.  That library link is: http://www.manliuslibrary.org/

A third show which began in November and will continue until sometime mid-February is a solo show at the Chittenengo Middle School.  This library space is not really accessible to the public (unless special arrangements are made) but is a show geared to the aspiring art students at CMS.

 

4 Responses to “Replenishing Supplies & Shows”

  1. 7891samoth January 8, 2015 at 10:56 pm #

    Congratulation on having your art exposed. I’m dreaming of doing the same in two years’ time. Great painting. It looks like you’re working with really wet paper, an achieving wonderful results with it.. The flowers and shapes turn out very organic and “plantlike” in a very expressive kind of way. How do you get the sharp lines between the dark and the light parts, like it’s the case with the flower to the left?

    • Katie Turner January 10, 2015 at 8:40 pm #

      Thanks 7891samoth: You asked about how I get the lines in my painting… I use my favorite old stick – take a look at the second picture I posted, you can see the stick. I found it in my backyard and find its the perfect irregular shape to make marks in paint. A brush or a straight stick would make marks that look too purposeful – by using a twisted old stick, it forces me to let nature take the lead in my paintings making natural lines and shapes. You were also correct that I do use a lot of water with my watercolors. Thanks for your comment and good luck with your show!

  2. kellyartisthorton January 17, 2015 at 12:09 am #

    The style of this painting is beautiful, the freelines and colours are just lovely.

Leave a Reply

